Wednesday, 27 August 2008

Kerrang! Awards 2008 winners and photos of arrivals and departures

Below: Lacuna Coil vocalist Christina Scabbia arrives at the 2008 Kerrang Awards.

Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich while he was signing autographs for fans before the show.
Rage Against The Machine vocalist Zack De La Rocha signing autographs for fans.
Brian "Synyster Gates" Haner from Avenged Sevenfold and Matt Tuck of Bullet For My Valentine after the Kerrang Awards show (yes, they had already drunk quite a lot by then!)
Zacky and Matt from Avenged Sevenfold after the awards show, looking for an AWOL Johnny!
Below: Slaves to Gravity vocalist Tommy Greeson proudly showing off his K Award for Best British Newcomer.

30 Seconds to Mars members Shannon and Jared Leto and Tomo Millicevic before the show.
James Hetfield from Metallica looking like he was asleep standing up!

Lin Z from Mindless Self Indulgance chatting to fans after the awards show was over.

Slipknot members Corey Taylor (lead vocals) and Jim Root (guitar) arriving.
Alkaline Trio vocalist Matt Skiba outside the venue before the awards show.
Below: Trivium lead singer Matt Heafy talks to fans before the show.

Below: Trivium bassist Paolo Gregoletto signing autographs for fans outside the venue.

The 2008 Kerrang! Awards was the usual drunken and lively event it has been over the years and as usual, I was there to catch some of the action on camera as everyone arrived and left. Poor Johnny Christ from Avenged Sevenfold left the show before the rest of his band, and collapsed at my feet by the entrance to venue where the event was held, as he walked out! He had to almost be held up by people when he approached patient fans waiting outside! It was quite an amusing scene and I wish I'd captured it on video. Bands who attended this year were Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, Bullet For My Valentine, Avenged Sevenfold, 30 Seconds To Mars, Funeral For a Friend, Slaves to Gravity, Black Tide, Gallows, Alkaline Trio, Cancer Bats, Mindless Self Indulgence, Elliott Minor, Bring Me the Horizon, Biffy Clyro, Trivium and Cristina Scabbia of Italian metal band Lacuna Coil co-hosted the show. Slipknot were forced to pull-out of their performance at the Reading and Leeds festivals because Joey and Sid both broke their ankles (which came as no surprise!), but Jim Root, Paul Gray and Corey Taylor showed up to pick up their K Award for rock Icons. System of a Down frontman and now solo artist Serj Tankian also made an appearance to present an award and Machinehead frontman Robb Flynn returned to the awards again this year to collect the award for Best Live Band.

The winners were:

Best International Band: 30 Seconds To Mars

Best British Band: Bullet For My Valentine

Best International Newcomer: Black Tide

Best British Newcomer: Slaves To Gravity

Best Rock Video: Coheed & Cambria for Feathers

Best Live Band: Machinehead

Best Album: Avenged Sevenfold for Avenged Sevenfold

Best Single: 30 Seconds To Mars for The Kill

Hall of Fame special award: Rage Against The Machine

Inspiration award: Metallica

Classic Songwriter award: Def Leppard

Rock Icon award: Slipknot

Video captures of some familiar faces arriving at the Kerrang! Awards 2008 can be viewed here:

No comments: